Skip to main content

Report Tools:


Governance Approach

Governance Structure

Senior Management

Headed by the Director of Drainage Services, the Department’s senior management comprises a Deputy Director and four Assistant Directors who are responsible for making important policy decisions and overseeing the Department’s daily operations, as well as formulating and reviewing our sustainability strategies and goals. The senior management team includes:


A. Director of Drainage Services - Mr. Kelvin LO Kwok-wah
B. Deputy Director of Drainage Services - Mr. MAK Ka-wai
C. Assistant Director/Projects and Development - Mr. Ken WONG Sui-kan
D. Assistant Director/Electrical and Mechanical - Mr. Eddie PAK Kan-ming
E. Assistant Director/Sewage Services - Mr. Anthony TSANG Kwok-leung
F. Assistant Director/Operations and Maintenance - Mr. HO Yiu-kwong
G. Departmental Secretary - Mr. Chris LI Chi-kong

Organisational Structure

DSD consists of four branches, including Sewage Services Branch, Operations and Maintenance Branch, Projects and Development Branch and Electrical and Mechanical Branch and 15 subordinate functional divisions. In addition, administration, accounting and technical support are handled by the Departmental Administration Division, Finance and Supplies Section and Technical Support Group at our headquarters respectively. As at March 2019, we have a permanent staff establishment of 1,986.

Each of the four branches is led by an Assistant Director and is responsible for providing technical and professional support services in its specific field. The duties of each branch are as follows:

Projects and Development Branch

is responsible for the implementation of capital works projects, which include the design and construction of drains, flood control and relief works, sewerage network and sewage treatment facilities.

Operations and Maintenance Branch

is responsible for the operation and maintenance of the drainage and sewerage systems in the territory as well as flood protection, planning of drainage and sewerage systems, enforcement of Land Drainage Ordinance and the management and maintenance of engineered drainage channels.

Electrical and Mechanical Branch

is responsible for the operation and maintenance of sewage treatment and flood protection facilities as well as electrical and mechanical design and installation works in sewage treatment and flood protection projects of the Department.

Sewage Services Branch

is responsible for the implementation of sewerage and sewage treatment projects including the Harbour Area Treatment Scheme and collection of sewage charges.