Drainage Services Department

San Tin Stormwater Pumping Station and Yuen Long Bypass Floodway

San Tin Stormwater Pumping Station and Yuen Long Bypass Floodway 

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway

To mitigate the flooding problem in the Northwest New Territories, Drainage Services Department implemented a series of long-term improvement measures which mainly involved river training works in particular for the rivers, serving the flood-prone basins in the northern part of the New Territories, and also village flood protection schemes to protect low-lying villages. 

San Tin Flood Protection Scheme was completed in 1999, which involved the construction of an embankment with stormwater pumping station around low-lying villages. The embankment prevents stormwater from entering the villages during heavy rainstorms. Stormwater collected within the villages is diverted to flood storage pond and then pumped to the drainage channels outside the embankment by the stormwater pumping station. After the commissioning of the scheme, 7 low-lying villages including Tsing Lung Tsuen, Fan Tin Tsuen and On Lung Tsuen are effectively protected from flooding.

Different from the traditional river training works which increase the flow capacity of the rivers by straightening, widening and deepening the river channels, Yuen Long Bypass Floodway (YLBF) adopts the method of interception, intercepts 40% of the runoff in the Yuen Long Catchment, and then discharges the intercepted flow to the Deep Bay without passing through the Yuen Long Town, which reduces the flood risk of Yuen Long significantly. Environmental and ecological features have been incorporated in the design of the YLBF project. These environmentally friendly designs can help to harmonize the works with the surrounding and to preserve the natural habitat. An engineered wetland with an area of 70,000 square metres (equivalent to the size of 10 standard football fields) has been constructed. It provides a habitat for the wild birds, amphibians and insects, and enriches the ecological value of the district.

Engineered Wetland of Yuen Long Bypass Floodway

Engineered Wetland of Yuen Long Bypass Floodway

Engineered Wetland of Yuen Long Bypass Floodway

Engineered Wetland of Yuen Long Bypass Floodway

Engineered Wetland of Yuen Long Bypass Floodway

Engineered Wetland of Yuen Long Bypass Floodway

Engineered Wetland of Yuen Long Bypass Floodway

Engineered Wetland of Yuen Long Bypass Floodway

Kam Tin River

Kam Tin River

Nam Shan Wai section of Kam Tin River

Nam Shan Wai Section of Kam Tin River

Village Flood Protection Scheme at San Tin, Yuen Long, completed in 1999

Village Flood Protection Scheme at San Tin, Yuen Long, completed in 1999

Completed in 1999, San Tin Flood Protection Scheme aims at reducing the flood risk of 7 low-lying villages including Tsing Lung Tsuen, Fan Tin Tsuen, On Lung Tsuen, San Lung Tsuen, Tung Chun Wai, Wing Ping Tsuen, and Yan Shau Wai.

Rainwater from villages is in general drained by gravity as overland flow or via surface channels to nearby stream courses. During heavy rainstorms, high water level in the downstream channel may cause stormwater difficult to be drained away or even resulted in backflow of stormwater into the villages, resulting in flooding, threatening the public safety and properties.

To solve the problem, San Tin Flood Protection Scheme constructs the embankment surrounding the villages to keep floodwater away from the village. A stormwater drainage system is also provided within the village area to collect and convey stormwater to a stormwater storage pond. When the water level in the pond reaches pre-determined levels, the pump in the stormwater pumping station will start automatically, water in the pond will be pumped to the adjacent channel outside the embankment. There are four duty water pumps and one standby water pump and each water pump can pump two cubic metres of stormwater per second.

To date, 27 flood protection schemes have been constructed protecting 38 low-lying villages.

San Tin Stormwater Pumping Station (360° View)

San Tin Stormwater Pumping Station (360° View)

San Tin Stormwater Pumping Station (360° View)

San Tin Stormwater Pumping Station (360° View)

San Tin Stormwater Pumping Station

San Tin Stormwater Pumping Station

Flood Siren

Flood Siren

San Tin Flood Prevention Information Corner

San Tin Flood Prevention Information Corner

San Tin Flood Prevention Information Corner in San Tin Stormwater Pumping Station provides scheduled guided tours for schools and community through a prior application. Through short videos, photos, display panels, physical model, computer animations and games, visitors can gain better understanding about Hong Kong’s history and causes of flooding and flood prevention strategies.

San Tin Flood Prevention Information Corner (360° View)

San Tin Flood Prevention Information Corner (360° View)

San Tin Flood Prevention Information Corner

San Tin Flood Prevention Information Corner

San Tin Flood Prevention Information Corner

San Tin Flood Prevention Information Corner

San Tin Flood Prevention Information Corner

San Tin Flood Prevention Information Corner

San Tin Flood Prevention Information Corner

San Tin Flood Prevention Information Corner

San Tin Flood Prevention Information Corner

San Tin Flood Prevention Information Corner

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway

Yuen Long is situated in a low land. The rapid urbanization in the past decades has increased the floodwater flow. At the same time, the flood storage from flood plain and fish ponds has diminished. The existing Yuen Long Nullah built in the past is not able to cope with the increased flow. As a result, flooding can occur when there is heavy rainstorm.

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Project was commissioned in early 2003 and was completed in early 2006. The aim of the project is to mitigate flooding in Yuen Long Town and its peripheral village areas. Yuen Long Bypass Floodway is a 3.8 kilometres long large drainage channel built at the South of Yuen Long Town to intercept 40% of the runoff in the Yuen Long catchment. The intercepted flow is diverted to the downstream of Kam Tin River and then discharged to Deep Bay. This engineering solution is cost effective and can avoid major drainage improvement works in Yuen Long Town, and hence the disruption to the traffic and living of Yuen Long residents.

The Bypass Floodway has incorporated a series of environmental designs. Its flow is not carried straight to the sea but passing through different regimes including bends, shallow ponds and wetland. The channel bottom and slope are covered by different species of herbaceous plants to provide a natural riverbank with aesthetic and ecological value.

A system of dry weather flow pumping station and inflatable dam is provided at the downstream of the Bypass Floodway. Under normal weather, the inflatable dam would be inflated to prevent polluted water in the downstream from flowing back into the Bypass Floodway, while the dry weather flow in the upstream would be pumped into the downstream Kam Tin River. During heavy rainstorms, water level in the Bypass Floodway would rise when the upstream floodwater exceeded the pumping station capacity, the dam would then deflate automatically to discharge the floodwater into Kam Tin River to prevent flooding.

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway (360° View)

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway (360° View)

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Shallow Ponds (360° View)

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Shallow Ponds (360° View)

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Shallow Ponds

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Shallow Ponds

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Shallow Ponds

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Shallow Ponds

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Inflatable Dam

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Inflatable Dam

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Low Flow Pumping Station

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Low Flow Pumping Station

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Engineered Wetland

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Engineered Wetland

The project of Yuen Long Bypass Floodway includes the construction of a 7 hectares of engineered wetland near the downstream. Greening works carried out along the Bypass Floodway and in the engineered wetland include planting of 13,000 trees, 140,000 shrubs and 550,000 herbaceous plants.

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Engineered Wetland mainly consists of 3 main water ponds, a seasonal shallow pond and a permanent shallow pond. There are also crushed brick and oyster shell ponds, reed beds and a deep water pond within the wetland. The dry weather flow of the Bypass Floodway, after purified by passing through the oyster shells, crushed bricks and reed bed, flows into the engineered wetland to establish an ecologically enriched habitat for the wild birds, amphibians and dragonflies.

The engineered wetland has already developed into a sustainable ecological habitat after a one-year conservation period, and it was handed over to the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department in June 2006 for long-term professional management. Continuous monitoring has shown great biodiversity with over 130 plant species and various species of birds, frogs, insects and bats.

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Engineered Wetland (360° View)

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Engineered Wetland (360° View)

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Engineered Wetland

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Engineered Wetland

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Engineered Wetland

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Engineered Wetland

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Engineered Wetland

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Engineered Wetland

Bat House at Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Engineered Wetland

Bat House at Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Engineered Wetland

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Engineered Wetland

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Engineered Wetland

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Engineered Wetland

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Engineered Wetland

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Engineered Wetland

Yuen Long Bypass Floodway Engineered Wetland

Kam Tin River

Kam Tin River

As the old Kam Tin River had been flooded for many times and caused serious flooding, which threatened the lives and property of residents living near the river, the Drainage Services Department launched large-scale flood prevention project in the 1990s. The project includes widening and straightening the Kam Tin River starting from the mid-stream, constructing the embankment with concrete and building a new channel of 120 metres wide and 3 kilometres long by excavating some fishponds in the vicinity of Nam Sang Wai. This new channel runs straightly to Shan Pui River and increase the drainage capacity of Kam Tin River.

River training works for Kam Tin River was completed in the 2000s. At present, the Kam Tin River has become a drainage channel with a total length of about 50 kilometers, and the catchment area is about 44.3 square kilometers. The downstream of Kam Tin River is merged with Yuen Long Bypass Floodway and the drainage channel from Ngau Tam Mei area.

In order to integrate the construction works with the surrounding landscape and conserve the natural habitat, the Drainage Services Department has introduced environmental friendly design into the project, including the preservation of the natural river bed at downstream, laying rip rap embankment (random rubbles forming side-slop), planting shrubs, trees and more than 120,000 mangrove seedlings alongside embankment.

Kam Tin River (360° View)

Kam Tin River (360° View)

Nam Sang Wai Kam Tin River Estuary (360° View)

Nam Sang Wai Kam Tin River Estuary (360° View)

Laying Rip Rap Embankment and Planting Mangrove Seedlings

Laying Rip Rap Embankment and Planting Mangrove Seedlings

Nam Sang Wai Kam Tin River Estuary

Nam Sang Wai Kam Tin River Estuary

Nam Sang Wai Kam Tin River Estuary

Nam Sang Wai Kam Tin River Estuary

Nam Sang Wai Kam Tin River Estuary

Nam Sang Wai Kam Tin River Estuary

Nam Sang Wai Kam Tin River Estuary

Nam Sang Wai Kam Tin River Estuary

Nam Sang Wai Kam Tin River Estuary

Nam Sang Wai Kam Tin River Estuary

Nam Sang Wai Kam Tin River Estuary

Nam Sang Wai Kam Tin River Estuary

 

Schools and relevant organisations are welcome to visit San Tin Stormwater Pumping Station and Yuen Long Bypass Floodway through prior application. For details, please visit the following website:

Visit to DSD Facilities

 

For details about San Tin Stormwater Pumping Station and Yuen Long Bypass Floodway, please visit the following website:

Website of Visit to San Tin Stormwater Pumping Station and Yuen Long Bypass Floodway

Leaflet of Village Flood Protection Scheme

Website of Yuen Long Bypass Floodway

Leaflet of Yuen Long Bypass Floodway

Back to Top

渠務署

新田雨水泵房及元朗排水繞道

新田雨水泵房及元朗排水繞道 

元朗排水繞道

元朗排水繞道

為解決新界西北區水浸問題,渠務署推行了一系列長遠改善措施,主要涉及河道治理工程,特別是流經新界北部容易發生水浸的盆地之河道,並實施鄉村防洪計劃,為低窪村落提供保障。

新田鄉村防洪計劃於1999年完成,工程主要包括在鄉村四周興建防洪堤和雨水泵房。防洪堤防止暴雨時雨水湧入村內,而村內的雨水則被引入蓄洪池,再被雨水泵房泵至防洪堤外的河道排放。計劃落成啟用後有效保護青龍村、蕃田村、安龍村等7條低窪村落免受水浸威脅。

有別於傳統河道治理工程透過拉直、擴闊和挖深河道,提升河道的排洪能力,元朗排水繞道採用截流方法,截取元朗集水區內四成的雨水,不經元朗市而直接帶至后海灣排放,大大減低了元朗的水浸風險。在元朗排水繞道工程中,更注入了保育自然生態的元素,加強工程建設與自然景觀的和諧及保育原地的生態環境。我們更建造了一片面積達70,000平方米(相等於10個標準足球場大小)的人工濕地,為依賴濕地生存的野生鳥類、兩棲動物和昆蟲提供棲息地,大大豐富了該區的生態環境。

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

錦田河

錦田河

錦田河南生圍段

錦田河南生圍段

於1999年完成位於新田的鄉村防洪計劃

於1999年完成位於新田的鄉村防洪計劃

新田鄉村防洪計劃於1999年完成,目的是減低青龍村、蕃田村、安龍村、新龍村、東鎮圍、永平村及仁壽圍7條低窪村落的水浸風險。

鄉村地區的雨水一般都是倚靠水向低流的特性,經由地面及原有的排水渠排到村外下游的渠道。大雨期間,下游排水渠道之水位會升高,如該鄉村位處低地,不但村內雨水難以排走,下游雨水甚至會倒灌入村,令村民的安全和財產受到威脅。

為解這個水浸問題,新田鄉村防洪計劃主要在鄉村四周建造防洪堤,以阻截村外的雨水流入村內,另於村內加建雨水收集系統,將雨水收集和儲存在一個蓄洪池內。當蓄洪池內的水位上升到預設之高度時,雨水泵房內的水泵會自動開啟,將雨水抽到防洪堤外的排水道排放。新田雨水泵房共有4台主水泵和一台後備水泵,每台水泵每秒可以抽走2立方米的雨水。

至今,渠務署已建成了27個鄉村防洪計劃,為38條低窪村落提供保障。

新田雨水泵房 (360度全景圖)

新田雨水泵房 (360度全景圖)

新田雨水泵房 (360度全景圖)

新田雨水泵房 (360度全景圖)

新田雨水泵房

新田雨水泵房

洪水警報器

洪水警報器

新田防洪資訊閣

新田防洪資訊閣

新田雨水泵房內設有新田防洪資訊閣,為學校及社區團體提供預約導賞服務,透過短片、相片、展板、模型、電腦動畫及遊戲,參觀者能更深入了解香港水浸歷史、水浸原因及防洪策略。

新田防洪資訊閣 (360度全景圖)

新田防洪資訊閣 (360度全景圖)

新田防洪資訊閣

新田防洪資訊閣

新田防洪資訊閣

新田防洪資訊閣

新田防洪資訊閣

新田防洪資訊閣

新田防洪資訊閣

新田防洪資訊閣

新田防洪資訊閣

新田防洪資訊閣

元朗排水繞道

元朗排水繞道

由於元朗位處低地,而高速的都市化令洪水增加,但原有蓄洪作用的洪泛平原及魚塘卻同時消失,以致幾十年建造的元朗明渠無法負荷,遇特大暴雨就會發生水浸。

元朗排水繞道工程項目在2003年初動工,並於2006年初順利完成。工程的目的是為元朗市及其周邊的鄉村地區締造一個不再受水患威脅的環境。排水繞道是一條在元朗市以南的大型排水道,總長約3.8公里。它截取了元朗集水區四成雨水,不經元朗市而直接引到錦田河下游,再排出后海灣。此工程方案不需要在元朗市中心大興土木,避免嚴重影響民生及交通,亦符合成本效益。

排水繞道採取了一系列的環保設計,其水流並不是筆直地流出大海,而是經過不同的流域,包括彎曲的河道、淺水池和人工濕地。河底和河岸斜坡上亦廣植不同品種的草本植物,營造一個具有觀賞和生態價值的天然河道。

在排水繞道下游尾段,設有旱流抽水站和充氣堤壩。在正常天氣的情況下,充氣堤壩會保持充氣,防止下游污染了的河水倒流入排水繞道,而旱流則經由抽水站帶到下游錦田河。在暴雨情況下,上游洪水超過抽水站流量時會使排水繞道水位上升,此時充氣堤壩會自動排氣下塌,讓洪水可以排到錦田河以防止水浸。

元朗排水繞道 (360度全景圖)

元朗排水繞道 (360度全景圖)

元朗排水繞道淺水池 (360度全景圖)

元朗排水繞道淺水池 (360度全景圖)

元朗排水繞道

元朗排水繞道

元朗排水繞道淺水池

元朗排水繞道淺水池

元朗排水繞道淺水池

元朗排水繞道淺水池

元朗排水繞道充氣堤壩

元朗排水繞道充氣堤壩

元朗排水繞道旱流泵房

元朗排水繞道旱流泵房

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

元朗排水繞道工程項目包括在排水繞道下游附近開拓一片面積達7公頃的人工濕地。工程又沿著排水繞道及人工濕地完成了大量的綠化工作,包括種植13,000棵喬木、140,000棵灌木和550,000棵草本植物。

元朗排水繞道人工濕地主要由三個主水池、一個季節性淺水池和一個永久淺水池組成;人工濕地內還有碎磚池及蠔殼池、蘆葦圃和一個深水池。排水繞道的旱流經過蠔殼池、碎磚池和蘆葦圃的天然淨化後,流入人工濕地,繼而孕育出一個優美的生態環境,並為依賴濕地生存的野生鳥類、兩棲動物和蜻蜓提供良好的棲息地。

人工濕地在為期一年的保育期後已發展成一個可持續的生態環境,並已於2006年6月交由漁農自然護理署作長期專業護養。持續的監察結果顯示濕地內的生物種類現已十分豐富,有超過130個品種的植物在內繁衍,更吸引了不同的鳥類、青蛙、昆蟲和蝙蝠等棲身。

元朗排水繞道人工濕地 (360度全景圖)

元朗排水繞道人工濕地 (360度全景圖)

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

朗排水繞道人工濕地蝙蝠屋

朗排水繞道人工濕地蝙蝠屋

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

元朗排水繞道人工濕地

錦田河

錦田河

由於原有的錦田河曾多次氾濫引發嚴重水災,對居於河道附近的市民構成生命和財產威脅,渠務署於1990年代展開大規模防洪工程,由錦田河中游開始把河道擴闊和拉直,以混凝土修建堤圍,開鑿南生圍部份魚塘,闢出一條約120米寬,約3公里長的人工新河道,並在山貝涌口村連接山貝河,以提升錦田河的排水能力。

錦田河河道改善工程陸續於2000年代完成。目前的錦田河已成為排洪河道,全長約50公里,而集水區的面積約為44.3平方公里,錦田河下游會匯合元朗排水繞道,以及源於牛潭尾一帶的排水道。

為使工程建設與四周景觀融和及保育天然生境,渠務署把環保設計引進工程項目中,其中包括於下游保留天然的河床、舖設亂石河堤(由無規則放置的石塊形成河岸兩邊斜坡)、沿河堤種植灌木、樹木和超過120,000棵紅樹林樹苗。

錦田河 (360度全景圖)

錦田河 (360度全景圖)

南生圍錦田河河口 (360度全景圖)

南生圍錦田河河口 (360度全景圖)

舖設亂石河堤及種植紅樹林樹苗

舖設亂石河堤及種植紅樹林樹苗

南生圍錦田河河口

南生圍錦田河河口

南生圍錦田河河口

南生圍錦田河河口

南生圍錦田河河口

南生圍錦田河河口

南生圍錦田河河口

南生圍錦田河河口

南生圍錦田河河口

南生圍錦田河河口

南生圍錦田河河口

南生圍錦田河河口

 

歡迎學校及團體預約參觀新田雨水泵房及元朗排水繞道,有關詳情,請瀏覽以下網頁:

申請參觀渠務署設施

 

有關新田雨水泵房及元朗排水繞道詳細資料,請瀏覽以下網頁:

參觀新田雨水泵房及元朗排水繞道網頁

鄉村防洪計劃小冊子

元朗排水繞道網頁

元朗排水繞道小冊子

返回頁首