Drainage Services Department

In order to comprehensively review the impacts of storm surges and waves on coastal low-lying or windy locations under extreme weather and climate change, the Government completed the Study of Coastal Hazards under Climate Change and Extreme Weather and Formulation of Improvement Measures - Feasibility Study (Coastal Hazards Study). It identified 26 coastal low-lying or windy residential areas* with higher risks (for details see the plan below) for formulation of the necessary improvement works and management measures to safeguard public safety.

Location Plan

Location Plan of Coastal Low-lying or Windy Residential Areas

Improvement Measures

The improvement works comprise various protective and adaptive options, which may include constructing or raising wave walls along the coastline, installing flood barriers at suitable places behind the coastline to cut off water pathways towards inland areas, and/or installing demountable flood barriers at building frontages. Management measures will involve the formulation of action plans on early alert systems and emergency preparedness. The executive summary of the Coastal Hazards Study has been uploaded to the Civil Engineering and Development Department website (www.cedd.gov.hk/eng/our-projects/project-reports/index-id-24.html).

* These 26 areas have covered 7 Storm Surge Spots and 3 Overtopping Wave Spots. Based on the situation during the passage of severe/ super typhoon in recent years, the Government identified 7 locations vulnerable to serious seawater inundation (namely, Storm Surge Spots, including Tai O, Luen On San Tsuen, Kar Wo Lei, Sham Tseng San Tsuen, Lei Yue Mun, Sai Kung Nam Wai and Yuen Long North West low-lying coastal area) and 3 locations vulnerable to serious seawater inundation due to overtopping wave (namely, Overtopping Wave Spots, including Tseung Kwan O South, Heng Fa Chuen and South Horizons), and implemented a series of measures to minimize the flooding risk as far as possible. Please see the below links for details of the overview and measures for Storm Surge Spots and Overtopping Wave Spots.

Storm Surge Spots
Overtopping Wave Spots

Back to Top

渠务署

为全面检视极端天气及气候变化下风暴潮和风浪对本港沿岸较低洼或当风地区的影响,政府完成了「气候变化和极端天气下的沿岸灾害研究及改善措施的制订──可行性研究」(沿岸灾害研究),识别了26个较高风险的沿岸低洼或当风住宅地区*(详见下图),以制定所需改善工程和管理措施,保障市民生命安全。

位置图

沿岸低洼或当风住宅地区的位置图

改善措施

改善工程由不同防御及应对方案组成,包括可在沿岸位置加建或提高挡浪墙、在海岸位置后面的合适地点加设挡水设施以阻截海水涌入内陆,及/或在建筑物前加设可拆卸式挡水板。管理措施则包括制订预警系统及紧急应变安排等行动计划。沿岸灾害研究报告的行政摘要已上载至土木工程拓展署网页(www.cedd.gov.hk/sc/our-projects/project-reports/index-id-24.html)。

* 这26个地区已涵盖7个风暴潮点及3个越堤浪点。政府根据过往强或超强台风吹袭期间的情况,识别了7个容易受海水倒灌和海水淹浸的低洼地点(即风暴潮点,包括大澳、联安新村、嘉和里、深井新村、鲤鱼门、西贡南围及元朗西北的沿海低洼地区)以及3个易受海浪冲击影响的地点(即越堤浪点,包括将军澳南、杏花邨及海怡半岛),并已采取一系列应对措施,以尽量减低水浸风险。有关风暴潮点及越堤浪点的形成和措施,详见以下连结。

风暴潮点
越堤浪点

返回页首