Drainage Services Department The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Brand HK
GovHK 简体版 繁體版
Submit search query Site Map
Default Font Size Larger Font Size Largest Font Size
Contact Us
Explanation of WCAG 2.0 Level Double-A Conformance
Color
Mobile Version
Mobile App
Print
Share
RSS
Sewage Services Charging Scheme >

Polluter Pays Principle

The Polluter Pays Principle was first widely discussed in the United Nations Conference on Environment and Development held in Rio de Janeiro of Brazil in June 1992. The principle was endorsed by all the attending representatives of the countries. Following this principle, the sewage services charging scheme was introduced in Hong Kong on 1 April 1995.

Each day, individual households and trades and industries turn over million tons of tap water into wastewater which requires proper treatment before disposal. Prior to the introduction of sewage services charging scheme, the cost of sewage collection and treatment came entirely from the public revenue. The disadvantages of such an arrangement are that the public is unaware of the cost of the sewage services and therefore has no incentive to reduce water pollution.

With the introduction of the sewage services charging scheme, dischargers are required to pay the cost of the sewage services according to the pollution level and quantity of their discharge. To maintain a modest charging level, the scheme aims at recovering only the operating and maintenance cost of public sewage facilities. The construction cost of  these facilities remains to be funded from the public revenue.

香港特別行政區政府 - 渠務署 香港品牌形象
GovHK 香港政府一站通 简体版 English
搜尋 網頁指南
預設字體大小 較大的字體 最大的字體
聯絡我們
2A無障礙說明
我的自訂色彩
即將推出
列印
分享
RSS
污水處理服務收費計劃 >

污染者自付原則

污染者自付原則於1992年6月在巴西里約熱內盧召開的聯合國環境與發展會議上首次被廣為討論。這項原則經出席會議的各國代表通過。根據這項原則,香港於1995年4月1日引入污水處理服務收費計劃。

每日,住宅用戶和工商業用戶將數以百萬噸計的自來水變為廢水,這些廢水需經過適當的處理才可排放。在引入污水處理服務費前,污水收集和處理的成本全數由政府收入支付。這個安排的缺點是,市民無法知悉污水處理服務所需的成本,亦不能促使市民主動減輕水污染問題。

自從引入污水處理服務費後,排放廢水者須按排放的水質及水量支付污水處理服務的成本。為要將收費維持在中等水平,在釐定收費時,目的只在收回操作和維修污水設施的成本;而這些設施的建設費用繼續由政府收入支付。

返回
置頂