Sewerage > Environmental Consideration > Renewable Energy

Renewable Energy 

As a responsible department, DSD has been playing an active role in mitigating global warming through best practices of energy saving. We have also been enhancing our policy on total energy management at Sewage Treatment Works (STW) and making use of more renewable energy technologies, including the application of solar, and regeneration of energy from biogas.

Solar Energy

Solar energy has been used at various DSD facilities, which include solar water heaters installed at various STWs providing hot water for daily usage; photovoltaic (PV) panels at some remote locations supplying electricity to equipment; and large scale grid-connected PV systems supplying electricity to part of the equipment at various major DSD facilities.

Solar water heater at Shek Wu Hui STW

PV panel system for remote gauging station for flood warning at Wong Chuk Yeung Tsuen, Fo Tan

Grid-connected PV system at Yuen Long STW

Solar water heater at Shek Wu Hui STW PV panel system for remote gauging station for flood warning at Wong Chuk Yeung Tsuen, Fo Tan Grid-connected PV system at Yuen Long STW

Biogas

DSD’s major secondary STW in Sha Tin, Tai Po, Shek Wu Hui and Yuen Long employ anaerobic digestion process in sludge treatment. During the treatment process, biogas, a mixture of around 65 per cent methane gas and the rest being carbon dioxide, is produced as a by-product. It is produced by the biological breakdown of organic matters in the absence of oxygen, and is a renewable fuel

Biogas Hot Water Boiler

In these four sewage treatment works, biogas has been used as fuel for gas boiler for generation of hot water to sustain the digestion process at a specific temperature.

Biogas water boiler at Tai Po STW
Biogas water boiler at Tai Po STW

Generation of Electricity by Biogas

1. Dual Fuel Engine Generator

Dual fuel engine generators are installed at the Shatin STW for supplying equipment with electricity. Cooling water and heat released from flue gas are also transformed to hot water for maintaining the temperature required for sludge digestion.

Dual fuel engine generator at Sha Tin STW
Dual fuel engine generator at Sha Tin STW
2. Combined Heat and Power (CHP) Generation System

CHP generator is to obtain energy from a single fuel (e.g. biogas) by means of combustion, where heat and power (electricity) are generated simultaneously so as to improve the overall energy usage efficiency.

Since March 2006, DSD has installed three CHP generation systems which use biogas as fuel. These include one 330 kW and one 635 kW CHP generator at Shek Wu Hui Sewage Treatment Works, one 625 kW and one 630 kW CHP generators at Tai Po Sewage Treatment Works, and one 1.4MW CHP generator at Sha Tin Sewage Treatment Works, The generated electricity is being supplied to the facilities within the sewage treatment works while the thermal energy recovered is being used for pre-heating the recirculation water to support the sludge digestion process as required.

A 330kW CHP generator at the Shek Wu Hui STW to generate electricity and heat for use of plant facilities
A 330kW CHP generator at the Shek Wu Hui STW to generate electricity and heat for use of plant facilities
Back
Top
Brand HK

除污净流 > 环保设计 > 可再生能源

可再生能源

作为一个负责任的政府部门,渠务署一直扮演着积极的角色,透过最佳的节能方法纾缓气候暖化问题。本署不断改进污水处理厂全面能源管理的政策,及应用更多可再生能源技术,当中包括太阳能及生物气体再生能源。 

太阳能

本署已在多个污水处理设施上应用了太阳能,其中包括在石湖墟污水处理厂安装太阳能热水器,为厂房提供日用的热水;在一些偏远地区的设施安装太阳能光伏板,为电器装置提供电源;以及在大型污水处理厂内安装大规模的连接电力网光伏系统,为部份电器装置供应电力。

安装在石湖墟污水处理厂的太阳能热水器

在火炭黄竹洋村的太阳能光伏板为防洪警报器供应电力

在元朗污水处理厂的连接电力网光伏系统

安装在石湖墟污水处理厂的太阳能热水器

在火炭黄竹洋村的太阳能光伏板为防洪警报器供应电力

在元朗污水处理厂的连接电力网光伏系统

 

生物气体(沼气)

 

本署其中四间大型二级污水处理厂,包括沙田、大埔、石湖墟和元朗污水处理厂,均采用厌氧消化方式处理污泥。在消化过程中产生的副产品生物气,是一种在缺氧情况下,有机物被厌氧微生物消化和分解所产生的气体;生物气是一种混合气体,内含约百分之65的甲烷,而其余成分主要是二氧化碳,是一种可再生的燃料。

 

 

生物气热水锅炉

在上述四间污水处理厂内,生物气会被用作气体锅炉燃料,将水加热以维持污泥消化过程所需的温度。

大埔污水处理厂的生物气热水锅炉

 

大埔污水处理厂的生物气热水锅炉

 

 

生物气发电

1.双燃料发电机
沙田污水处理厂安装了双燃料发电机为厂内设施供电,而发电机的冷却水及所排出废气内的热能,亦会被回收以提供热水,维持污泥消化过程所需的温度。

沙田污水处理厂的双燃料发电机

 

沙田污水处理厂的双燃料发电机

 

2.热电联供发电系统 
热电联供发电机是指利用发动机燃烧单一燃料(例如生物气),在燃烧过程中同时产生电力和热力,进一步提高能源的使用效率。

本署自2006年3月起已加设了三台以生物气为燃料的热电联供发电系统,当中包括位于石湖墟污水处理厂的二台分别为330及635千瓦的热电联供发电机 、位于大埔污水处理厂的二台分别为625千瓦及630千瓦的热电联供发电机与及位于沙田污水处理厂的一台1.4兆瓦的热电联供发电机其产生的电力可供应污水处理厂内设施使用而经回收所得的热能则用来将来循环水加热,以维持污泥消化过程所需的温度

石湖墟污水处理厂内的热电联供发电机产生电力和热水供厂内设施使用

 

石湖墟污水处理厂内的热电联供发电机产生电力和热水供厂内设施使用

返回
置顶
Brand HK