Drainage Services Department The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Brand HK
GovHK 简体版 繁體版
Submit search query Site Map
Default Font Size Larger Font Size Largest Font Size
Contact Us
Explanation of WCAG 2.0 Level Double-A Conformance
Color
Mobile Version
Mobile App
Print
Share
RSS
Publicity and Publications >Publicity >Events & Others >
Greening for river improvement project in Ma Wat River, Tai Po (Date: 09/04/2011)

The Drainage Services Department (DSD) will continue to explore every opportunity for landscaping and greening in its river improvement projects to ensure that the drainage works are compatible with the surrounding natural environment.

Speaking at a planting event around Ma Wat River, Tai Po, today (April 9), the Director of Drainage Services, Mr Chan Chi-chiu, said the DSD was committed to incorporating environmental design in drainage infrastructure.

"Recognising the aspirations of the public for greening to enhance quality of life and to help protect the environment, the DSD places great emphasis on the greening of sewage treatment works, sewage or floodwater pumping facilities, and drainage channels. Landscape design is introduced to all new works as far as practicable," Mr Chan said.

"One of these examples is the 'Drainage Improvement for Ma Wat River at Kau Lung Hang' where large-scale greening work has started."

To tackle the flooding problem and to meet the community's increased expectations for better protection against flooding, the DSD has implemented in phases a number of drainage improvement projects in Tai Po district including the Ma Wat River improvement project. Costing about $170 million, this project has widened and deepened the 1.8-kilometre-long drainage channels and laid large-diameter drainage pipe crossings under the rail embankment of the Mass Transit Railway. This project has increased the drainage capacity of Ma Wat River.

To increase awareness of community greening works among young people, Mr Chan, together with the Deputy Secretary for Development (Works), Mrs Jessie Ting, Chairman of Tai Po District Council, Mr Cheung Hok-ming, Chairman of Tai Po Rural Committee, Mr Man Chun-fai, Tai Po District Officer, Mr Ivan Lee, and other guests planted trees around Ma Wat River with students from Tai Po district at today's ceremony.

The DSD is currently implementing drainage improvement works in other upstream areas such as Kau Lung Hang, Yuen Leng, Nam Wa Po, Tai Hang, Wai Tau Tsuen, Lam Tsuen and She Shan Tsuen. There will be more greening along with the substantial increase in drainage capacity in Tai Po's rural area upon completion of these drainage improvement works.

Mr Chan also expressed gratitude to Tai Po District Council, Tai Po Rural Committee, the village representatives and the villagers of Tai Po district for their support and valuable suggestions and assistance on the drainage projects. 

 The Deputy Secretary for Development (Works), the Director of Drainage Services, and the Chairman of Tai Po District Council. 
The Deputy Secretary for Development (Works), Mrs Jessie Ting, the Director of Drainage Services, Mr Chan Chi-chiu (left), and the Chairman of Tai Po District Council, Mr Cheung Hok-ming (first right) plant trees around Ma Wat River at a ceremony today (April 9).

 Mr Chan plants seedlings with students.
Mr Chan plants seedlings with students.  

Back
Top

香港特別行政區政府 - 渠務署 香港品牌形象
GovHK 香港政府一站通 简体版 English
搜尋 網頁指南
預設字體大小 較大的字體 最大的字體
聯絡我們
2A無障礙說明
宣傳及刊物 >宣傳資料 >活動及其他 >
大埔麻笏河工程進行綠化 (日期:2011年4月9日)

渠務署署長陳志超表示,渠務署在進行河道改善計劃工程時,會致力推行綠化和環境美化工程,以確保渠務工程與四周的自然環境配合。

 陳志超今日(四月九日)在大埔麻笏河舉行的植樹活動上表示,渠務署致力將環保設計融入渠務基礎建設。

 他說:「我們明白市民期望綠化可改善生活質素和保護環境,所以渠務署注重污水處理廠、污水或雨水泵房,以及排水道等設施的綠化工作,並盡量在每項新工程引入園境設計。『九龍坑麻笏河雨水排放系統改善計劃』便是其中一個例子,而這項工程的大規模綠化工作現正展開。」

為解決大埔區的水浸問題,並滿足居民對提高防洪標準的期望,渠務署已分階段在區內進行多項排水改善工程,當中包括耗資約一億七千萬元的「九龍坑麻笏河雨水排放系統改善計劃」。該工程擴闊和加深1.8公里長的河道,以及在港鐵路軌下敷設大型排水管道,提升麻笏河的排洪能力。

為了讓更多年青人認識社區的綠化工作,陳志超在活動上聯同發展局副秘書長丁葉燕薇、大埔區議會主席張學明、大埔鄉事委員會主席文春輝、大埔民政事務專員李國彬及其他嘉賓,與大埔區的學生一同在麻笏河種植樹木。

現時,渠務署正在九龍坑、元嶺、南華莆、泰亨、圍頭村、林村、社山村等上游位置進行其它的排水改善工程,預計當工程陸續完成後,在大埔鄉郊地區的排洪能力提升的同時,市民亦可看到大量的綠化工程。

陳志超同時感謝大埔區議會、大埔鄉事委員會、大埔區各村代表及村民對渠務署工程的支持和包容,並為工程提供了不少寶貴意見和協助。

發展局副秘書長(工務)丁葉燕薇、渠務署署長陳志超(左)與大埔區議會主席張學明(右一)今日(四月九日)出席在大埔麻笏河舉行的植樹活動。

 陳志超與學生一同種植樹苗。

陳志超與學生一同種植樹苗。

返回
置頂