Drainage Services Department The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Brand HK
GovHK 简体版 繁體版
Submit search query Site Map
Default Font Size Larger Font Size Largest Font Size
Contact Us
Explanation of WCAG 2.0 Level Double-A Conformance
Color
Mobile Version
Mobile App
Print
Share
RSS
Publicity and Publications >Publicity >Events & Others >
Odour Containment System at Stonecutters Island Sewage Treatment Works Completed (Date: 12/12/2012)

The Director of Drainage Services, Mr. Chan Chi-chiu, officiated at the completion ceremony for Contract No. DE/2009/02 – Provision of Covers and Deodourisation Facilities to the Existing Sedimentation Tanks at Stonecutters Island Sewage Treatment Works (SCISTW) today (12 December 2012).  The ceremony marked the successful completion of one of the odour mitigation measures at SCISTW under the Habour Area Treatment Scheme Stage 2A.

As a long term measures to enhance the odour control at SCISTW, Drainage Services Department (DSD) has awarded a works contract in end October 2009 to provide an odour containment system to the existing 46 nos. of sedimentation tanks and related facilities.  The odour containment system, comprising fibreglass reinforced plastic (FRP) covers with total area of 25,000m2 to enclose all sedimentation tanks and related facilities, air-extraction ductwork with an extraction rate of 112,000 m3/hr to extract the air under the enclosed area and two deodourisation units using biotrickling filter technology with H2S removal efficiency up to 99% to treat the extracted air, was fully commissioned since end June 2012.  The whole of works under the Contract were satisfactorily completed in early September 2012.  Following the commissioning of the odour containment system, there has been a marked improvement on the H2S levels within and in the vicinity of the SCISTW.

Officiating at the ceremony, Mr. Chan said that odour from sewage treatment works and its possible environmental nuisance to the nearby areas is always a concern of DSD.  DSD is committed and takes every opportunity to enhance the odour control measures at sewage treatment works. 

“I am pleased to note that our previous commitment to Sham Shui Po District Council can be achieved ahead of time and the odour nuisance from the sedimentation tanks has been resolved.  In addition, the FRP covers have provided a new and colorful appearance to the SCISTW.  Now, what can be seen by the nearby residents at Sham Shui Po District and the road users of Stonecutters Bridge is no longer the 46 nos. of sedimentation tanks but the beautiful FRP covers with random mix colour pattern comprising three different colours.” Mr Chan said.

Before the ceremony, a site visit to the SCISTW by the members of Sham Shui Po District Council was led by Mr. Chan Pak Keung, the Assistant Director of DSD, in order to brief the DC members of the achievement brought about by the completed works. 

Other officiating guests at today's ceremony included District Officer (Sham Shui Po), Mr. Mok Kwan-yu, and the Chairman of the Sham Shui Po District Council, Mr. Kwok Chun-wah.



The Director of Drainage Services, Mr. Chan Chi-chiu (middle), District Officer (Sham Shui Po), Mr. Mok Kwan-yu (fifth from right), and the Chairman of Sham Shui Po District Council Mr. Kwok Chun-wah (fifth from left) and other guests officiated at the completion ceremony

The Director of Drainage Services, Mr. Chan Chi-chiu (middle), District Officer (Sham Shui Po), Mr. Mok Kwan-yu (fifth from right), and the Chairman of Sham Shui Po District Council, Mr. Kwok Chun-wah (fifth from left) and other guests officiated at the completion ceremony

The Director of Drainage Services, Mr. Chan Chi-chiu (fifth from right), the Chairman of Sham Shui Po District Council Mr. Kwok Chun-wah (fourth from left) and other guests officiated at the completion ceremony

The Director of Drainage Services, Mr. Chan Chi-chiu (fifth from right), the Chairman of Sham Shui Po District Council, Mr. Kwok Chun-wah (fourth from left) and other guests officiated at the completion ceremony

Visit by Members of Sham Shui Po District Council to the covered sedimentation tanks

Visit by Members of Sham Shui Po District Council to the covered sedimentation tanks

Completed fibreglass reinforced plastic (FRP) Covers

Completed fibreglass reinforced plastic (FRP) Covers

Back
Top

香港特別行政區政府 - 渠務署 香港品牌形象
GovHK 香港政府一站通 简体版 English
搜尋 網頁指南
預設字體大小 較大的字體 最大的字體
聯絡我們
2A無障礙說明
宣傳及刊物 >宣傳資料 >活動及其他 >
昂船洲污水處理廠的氣味密封系統順利完工 (日期:2012年12月12日)
渠務署署長陳志超今日(2012年12月12日)主持合約編號DE/2009/02-覆蓋昂船洲污水處理廠現有污水沉澱池及安裝辟味設施工程的完工典禮,標誌著在「淨化海港計劃第二期甲」中一項紓緩昂船洲污水處理廠氣味措施已順利功完成。

為了加強昂船洲污水處理廠的長遠氣味管制措施,渠務署於2009年10月底展開合約編號DE/2009/02,為現有46個沉澱池及相關設施建造氣味密封系統。此氣味密封系統於2012年6月底全面啟用,系統包括覆蓋總面積25,000平方米的沉澱池玻璃纖維強化塑膠覆面、兩台採用生物滴濾塔技術及硫化氫移除率達99%的辟味裝置和每小時抽風量達到112,000立方米的抽風系統,氣味密封系統會將覆蓋後密封空間下的空氣抽走及處理後才排放。整項合約於2012年9月初順利完工,自氣味密封系統啟用以來,昂船洲污水處理廠內及周邊的硫化氫濃度亦顯著減少。

陳志超在儀式上表示,渠務署一直都十分關注污水處理廠的氣味及其對周邊環境可能帶來的影響,所以渠務署承諾並致力於加強污水處理廠的氣味控制措施。

陳志超說:「我十分高興見到工程按我們曾承諾深水埗區議會的目標提前完成,而來自污水沉澱池的氣味問題也得到完滿解決。我也十分高興見到工程為污水廠的外貌添上新的色彩,讓深水埗區的居民和附近昂船洲大橋的使用者從遠處看見的不再是46個污水沉澱池,而是一個個擁有三種鮮明顏色配搭的蓋面。」

在完工典禮前,助理署長/污水處理服務陳柏強帶領一眾深水埗區議員參觀昂船洲污水處理廠,並詳細介紹覆蓋工程所帶來的成果。

今日典禮的主禮嘉賓還有深水埗民政事務專員莫君虞和深水埗區議會主席郭振華。

渠務署署長陳志超(中)、深水埗民政事務專員莫君虞(右五)和深水埗區議會主席郭振華(左五)在完工典禮上祝酒

渠務署署長陳志超(中)、深水埗民政事務專員莫君虞(右五)和深水埗區議會主席郭振華(左五)在完工典禮上祝酒
 

渠務署署長陳志超(右五)、深水埗區議會主席郭振華(左四)與其他主禮嘉賓主持完工儀式

渠務署署長陳志超(右五)、深水埗區議會主席郭振華(左四)與其他主禮嘉賓主持完工儀式


深水埗區議員參觀蓋覆後的沉澱池

深水埗區議員參觀蓋覆後的沉澱池

覆蓋沉澱池的玻璃纖維強化塑膠覆面

覆蓋沉澱池的玻璃纖維強化塑膠覆面

返回
置頂