Drainage Services Department The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Brand HK
GovHK 简体版 繁體版
Submit search query Site Map
Default Font Size Larger Font Size Largest Font Size
Contact Us
Explanation of WCAG 2.0 Level Double-A Conformance
Color
Mobile Version
Mobile App
Print
Share
RSS
Publicity and Publications >Publicity >Events & Others >
Lai Chi Kok Drainage Tunnel commissioned (Date: 18/10/2012)

The Chief Executive, Mr C Y Leung, today (October 18) officiated at the commissioning ceremony of the Lai Chi Kok Drainage Tunnel, marking the completion of a long-term solution to relieve the flooding problem in northwest Kowloon.

Construction of the $1.7 billion Lai Chi Kok Drainage Tunnel commenced in November 2008. Situated in the northwestern part of the Kowloon peninsula, the 3.7-kilometre tunnel comprises a 1.2km main tunnel excavated underneath the Lai Chi Kok urban strip and a 2.5km mid-hill branch tunnel. Stormwater is diverted into the branch tunnel through six intakes installed along its length before being drained away via the main tunnel for discharge into the harbour near Stonecutters Island. This innovative method of intercepting stormwater for direct conveyance will raise the flood protection level in areas like Lai Chi Kok, Cheung Sha Wan and Sham Shui Po to withstand rainstorms with a return period of one in 50 years.

Throughout the planning, design and construction stages, the project team conquered various challenges and achieved a number of breakthroughs in engineering technology. For instance, sophisticated techniques were employed in driving the tunnel boring machine safely below four operating railway lines and past the numerous foundations of existing infrastructure in the busy district of Lai Chi Kok. To avoid any adverse impact on these facilities, construction personnel worked under hyperbaric pressure of up to 4.2 bar, breaking the record in Hong Kong's tunnelling history. Advanced hyperbaric know-how was specially brought in from overseas. Having achieved the highest safety standards, the project has set a new direction for hyperbaric applications in Hong Kong's construction engineering.

In addition to completing the Lai Chi Kok Drainage Tunnel, the Drainage Services Department has been working on various major flood prevention projects in phases. They include the Hong Kong West Drainage Tunnel that was commissioned in August and the Tsuen Wan Drainage Tunnel, to be completed in the middle of next year. The Happy Valley Underground Stormwater Storage Scheme is also under way. These projects will further enhance Hong Kong's overall flood protection capability.

Mr Leung and another officiating guest, the Secretary for Development, Mr Paul Chan, gave special thanks to the front-line construction workers for their dedicated efforts that brought about smooth completion of the project.

Other officiating guests at today's ceremony included the Permanent Secretary for Development (Works), Mr Wai Chi-sing; the Director of Drainage Services, Mr Chan Chi-chiu; and the Chairman of the Sham Shui Po District Council, Mr Kwok Chun-wah.

For the details of the news report on the event, please refer to the following hyperlink:

 

 

Wen Wei Po

http://paper.wenweipo.com/2012/10/19/HK1210190033.htm

The Chief Executive, Mr C Y Leung, addresses the commissioning ceremony for the Lai Chi Kok Drainage Tunnel today (October 18).

The Chief Executive, Mr C Y Leung, addresses the commissioning ceremony for the Lai Chi Kok Drainage Tunnel today (October 18).

Mr Leung (centre, front row), together with the Secretary for Development, Mr Paul Chan (third left, front row); the Permanent Secretary for Development (Works), Mr Wai Chi-sing (fifth left, front row); the Director of Drainage Services, Mr Chan Chi-chiu (second left, front row); and other officiating guests, officiates at the commissioning ceremony.

Mr Leung (centre, front row), together with the Secretary for Development, Mr Paul Chan (third left, front row); the Permanent Secretary for Development (Works), Mr Wai Chi-sing (fifth left, front row); the Director of Drainage Services, Mr Chan Chi-chiu (second left, front row); and other officiating guests, officiates at the commissioning ceremony.

The Secretary for Development, Mr Paul Chan, speaks at the commissioning ceremony of the Lai Chi Kok Drainage Tunnel today (October 18).

The Secretary for Development, Mr Paul Chan, speaks at the commissioning ceremony of the Lai Chi Kok Drainage Tunnel today (October 18).

The Assistant Director (Projects and Development), Mr Cheng Hung-leung (middle), the Chief Engineer (Project Management), Mr Tai Wai-man (right), and the Senior Engineer (Project Management), Mr Kan Hon-shing, of the Drainage Services Department brief the media on the planning, design and construction of the Lai Chi Kok Drainage Tunnel.

The Assistant Director (Projects and Development), Mr Cheng Hung-leung (middle), the Chief Engineer (Project Management), Mr Tai Wai-man (right), and the Senior Engineer (Project Management), Mr Kan Hon-shing, of the Drainage Services Department brief the media on the planning, design and construction of the Lai Chi Kok Drainage Tunnel.

Mr Cheng Hung-leung (left), and Mr Kan Hon-shing, introduce the design of the project at the branch tunnel portal of the Lai Chi Kok Drainage Tunnel.  

Mr Cheng Hung-leung (left), and Mr Kan Hon-shing, introduce the design of the project at the branch tunnel portal of the Lai Chi Kok Drainage Tunnel.

Back
Top

香港特別行政區政府 - 渠務署 香港品牌形象
GovHK 香港政府一站通 简体版 English
搜尋 網頁指南
預設字體大小 較大的字體 最大的字體
聯絡我們
2A無障礙說明
宣傳及刊物 >宣傳資料 >活動及其他 >
荔枝角雨水排放隧道启用 (日期: 2012年10月18日)

荔枝角雨水排放隧道启用 (日期: 2012年10月18日)

行政長官梁振英今日(十月十八日)為荔枝角雨水排放隧道主持啟用典禮,標誌?西北九龍地區的水浸問題將得到長遠解決。

造價約17億元的荔枝角雨水排放隧道工程在二○○八年十一月展開。隧道位於九龍半島西北部,全長3.7公里。主隧道長1.2公里,貫通荔枝角市區地底,而分支隧道長2.5公里,沿半山興建。雨水經六個進水口流入分支隧道,再經主隧道從昂船洲旁的排水口流出海港。這種直接疏導雨水的嶄新截流方式將大大提升荔枝角、長沙灣和深水?等地區的防洪水平至可抵禦五十年一遇的大雨。

工程團隊在籌劃、設計和施工的過程中克服了多項挑戰,並締造多個工程技術上的突破。例如隧道鑽挖機需採用極高的鑽挖技術,才能在荔枝角這個繁忙的市區地下,安全地穿越四條營運中的鐵路及其他眾多現有設施的地基。此外,為確保周邊的設施不受影響,工程人員須在4.2倍大氣壓力的環境下施工,氣壓之高打破香港隧道建築史上的紀錄。有關工序引入海外先進的高壓壓縮空氣技術,達至最高的安全標準,為本港的工程開創使用高壓技術的新路向。

除了荔枝角雨水排放隧道,渠務署短期內亦陸續完成多項大型防洪工程,包括今年八月啟用的港島西雨水排放隧道和明年中落成的荃灣雨水排放隧道,而跑馬地地下蓄洪計劃亦已展開。這些工程將進一步提升本港的整體防洪能力。

梁振英和一同主禮的發展局局長陳茂波特別感謝前線的建築工人盡心盡力使工程順利完成。

今日典禮的主禮嘉賓還有發展局常任秘書長(工務)韋志成、渠務署署長陳志超和深水?區議會主席郭振華。

如欲查看有關是次活動的新聞報導,請瀏覽以下連結網頁:

 

 

文匯報

http://paper.wenweipo.com/2012/10/19/HK1210190033.htm

行政長官梁振英今日(十月十八日)在荔枝角雨水排放隧道啟用典禮上致辭。

行政長官梁振英今日(十月十八日)在荔枝角雨水排放隧道啟用典禮上致辭。

梁振英(前排中)、發展局局長陳茂波(前排左三)、發展局常任秘書長(工務)韋志成(前排左五)和渠務署署長陳志超(前排左二)與其他主禮嘉賓主持啟用儀式。

梁振英(前排中)、發展局局長陳茂波(前排左三)、發展局常任秘書長(工務)韋志成(前排左五)和渠務署署長陳志超(前排左二)與其他主禮嘉賓主持啟用儀式。

發展局局長陳茂波今日(十月十八日)在荔枝角雨水排放隧道啟用典禮上致辭。

發展局局長陳茂波今日(十月十八日)在荔枝角雨水排放隧道啟用典禮上致辭。

 渠務署助理署長(設計拓展)鄭鴻亮(中)、總工程師(工程管理)戴懷民(右)及高級工程師(工程管理)簡漢成向傳媒介紹荔枝角雨水排放隧道項目的規劃、設計及建造詳情。

渠務署助理署長(設計拓展)鄭鴻亮(中)、總工程師(工程管理)戴懷民(右)及高級工程師(工程管理)簡漢成向傳媒介紹荔枝角雨水排放隧道項目的規劃、設計及建造詳情。

鄭鴻亮(左)及簡漢成在荔枝角雨水排放隧道的分支隧道出口介紹項目的設計。

鄭鴻亮(左)及簡漢成在荔枝角雨水排放隧道的分支隧道出口介紹項目的設計。

返回
置頂