Drainage Services Department The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Brand HK
GovHK 简体版 繁體版
Submit search query Site Map
Default Font Size Larger Font Size Largest Font Size
Contact Us
Explanation of WCAG 2.0 Level Double-A Conformance
Color
Mobile Version
Mobile App
Print
Share
RSS
Publicity and Publications >Publicity >Events & Others >
Media Briefing on “DSD conducts carbon audits in support of reducing greenhouse gas emission” (Date: 5/2/2013)

The Assistant Director (Electrical and Mechanical) of Drainage Services, Mr She Siu-kuen, held a media briefing today (February 5) on carbon audits in support of reducing greenhouse gas emission.  He introduced the Drainage Services Department’s carbon audit scheme and its effectiveness.

 

Carbon audit is a method to identify, account and report on the emission and removal of GHG, mainly carbon dioxide, from different processes within the boundary of the entity.  Carbon audit enables us to identify the major sources of emission and find ways to reduce them through reduction in consumption, improvement in efficiency, use of renewable energy etc.

 

Drainage Services Department (DSD), in response to the target of reducing the city’s energy intensity at least 25% by 2030 (with 2005 as the base year) announced by the Chief Executive of Hong Kong in his Policy Address 2007/08, initiated the formulation of a carbon audit programme for its sewage treatment works (STW) and set up a feasibility study group  in 2008, and started its first carbon audit at Sha Tin STW (the first carbon audit for STW in Hong Kong) in 2009 with the main objective to reduce the greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions.  Since then, the carbon audit is conducted annually for Sha Tin STW, and it has been extended to cover more sewage treatment facilities and planned to involve various types of sewage treatment processes.

 

In 2012, DSD has taken a step further in this direction by conducting carbon audits in its drainage and sewerage construction works and two projects under construction stage were chosen as pilot carbon audits.  The Contract No. DC/2010/07 – Drainage Improvement Works in Pok Fu Lam Road, Mount Butler and Happy Valley, a typical small-scaled drainage improvement works project, was chosen as the first pilot to identified ways to reduce carbon emission in construction works.  The Contract No. DC/2008/03 – Design, Build and Operate Pillar Point Sewage Treatment Works, a sewage treatment works upgrading project, was chosen as the second pilot project to assess the effectiveness of carbon reduction measures.

 

Since the commencement of carbon audit in 2008, DSD has so far achieved a total of about 10,000 tonnes of CO2-e reduction from its STW and construction worksite operations, equivalent to the annual carbon absorption of over 434,780 numbers of trees (enough to fill 1,110  Hong Kong Stadium).  The use of biogas at STWs can achieve a total saving of about $12 million, which is equivalent to the annual electricity costs of 1,600 four-person families.

 

Looking forward, DSD will conduct carbon audits at more STW and construction works and adopt carbon emission reduction measures at more of its STWs and construction sites with a view to reducing DSD’s carbon footprint, making it more environmentally friendly while also providing high quality drainage and sewage treatment services to the public.

 

 

For the details of the news reports on the briefing, please refer to the following hyperlinks:

 

 

The Sun

http://the-sun.on.cc/cnt/news/20130206/00407_054.html

 

Wen Wei Po

http://news.wenweipo.com/2013/02/05/IN1302050077.htm

 

 

The Assistant Director (Electrical and Mechanical) of Drainage Services, Mr She Siu-kuen (the second from the left), together with other speakers, introduced the DSD's carbon audits and carbon emission reduction measures to the media 

The Assistant Director (Electrical and Mechanical) of Drainage Services, Mr She Siu-kuen (the second from the left), together with other speakers, introduced the DSD's carbon audits and carbon emission reduction measures to the media

 

 

The Assistant Director (Electrical and Mechanical) of Drainage Services, Mr She Siu-kuen (right), and the Senior Chemist (Sewage Treatment), Dr Daniel Tang (left), showed the DSD's facilities for reduction of carbon emission to the media. 

The Assistant Director (Electrical and Mechanical) of Drainage Services, Mr She Siu-kuen (right), and the Senior Chemist (Sewage Treatment), Dr Daniel Tang (left), showed the DSD's facilities for reduction of carbon emission to the media.

 

The green roof in the Shatin Sewage Treatment Works 

The green roof in the Shatin Sewage Treatment Works

 

 

The combined heat and power generator that utilises the biogas produced during sewage treatment for electricity generation 

The combined heat and power generator that utilises the biogas produced during sewage treatment for electricity generation

Back
Top

香港特别行政区政府 - 渠务署 香港品牌形象
GovHK 香港政府一站通 繁體版 English
搜寻 网页指南
预设字体大小 较大的字体 最大的字体
联络我们
2A无障碍说明
宣传及刊物 >宣传资料 >活动及其他 >
「碳审计 助减排」传媒简报会 (日期: 2013年2月5日)

渠务署助理署长(机电工程)佘少权于今日(2月5日)主持了「碳审计 助减排」简报会,介绍署方推行碳审计的计划和成效。

 

碳审计是一套方法,为实体范围内进行的不同程序的温室气体(以二氧化碳为主)排放及减除作出识别、核算及报告。进行碳审计可确定主要排放源,并藉减少消耗量、提高效率、使用可再生能源等,以减少温室气体排放量。

 

渠务署为回应2007-08年度施政报告订明的减排目标 (在2030年前将能源强度在2005年的基础上至少降低25%),主动要求就污水处理厂订定碳审计计划,于2008年成立小组研究为污水处理设施进行碳审计的可行性,并于2009年为沙田污水处理厂展开首次碳审计。这是香港首次为污水处理厂进行碳审计。沙田污水处理厂自此每年进行一次碳审计,而其他污水处理厂亦开始进行碳审计。本署计划推广碳审计至采用各种不同污水处理程序的污水处理厂。

 

于2012年,渠务署把碳审计项计划推广至雨水排放系统和污水处理设施建造工程,并选定两项正在施工的工程项目作为试点。渠务署挑选了一份典型的小规模雨水排放系统改善工程合约(合约编号DC/2010/07 — 薄扶林道、毕拉山及跑马地雨水排放系统改善工程)作为第一个试点工程,以找出减少在建造过程中产生温室气体的可行措施。此外,选择了一份污水处理设施建造工程 (合约编号DC/2008/03 — 设计、建造及操作望后石污水处理厂) 作为第二个试点工程,以评估措施的效用。

 

自2008年起陆续为污水处理厂的操作和渠务工程的建造进行碳审计,至今减少温室气体排放量相等于约10,000公吨的二氧化碳,相等于逾434,780棵树木(大约可种满1,110个香港大球场)一年内的碳吸收量。此外,本署于多个污水处理厂利用生物气体发电,每年合共可节省电费开支约1,200万元,相等于约1,600个四人家庭一年的用电量。

 

展望未来,渠务署会为更多污水处理厂和建造工程进行碳审计,并采取碳减排措施,以减少我们的碳足迹,冀能用最环保的方法为市民提供优质的雨水排放及污水收集和处理服务。

 

如欲查看有关传媒简报会的新闻报导,请浏览以下超连结:

 

 

 

太阳报

http://the-sun.on.cc/cnt/news/20130206/00407_054.html

 

文汇报

http://news.wenweipo.com/2013/02/05/IN1302050077.htm

 

 

渠务署助理署长(机电工程) 佘少权先生(左二)带领一众讲者向传媒介绍渠务署的碳审计及减排措施 

渠务署助理署长(机电工程) 佘少权先生(左二)带领一众讲者向传媒介绍渠务署的碳审计及减排措施

 

渠务署助理署长(机电工程) 佘少权先生(右)及高级化验师(污水处理) 邓天祜博士(左)向传媒介展示沙田污水处理厂内的减排设施 

渠务署助理署长(机电工程) 佘少权先生(右)及高级化验师(污水处理) 邓天祜博士(左)向传媒介展示沙田污水处理厂内的减排设施   

 

 

 

 

沙田污水处理厂内的绿化天台 

沙田污水处理厂内的绿化天台

 

以处理污水时产生的生物气体为燃料的电热联供发电机 

以处理污水时产生的生物气体为燃料的电热联供发电机

返回
置顶